Vedic Astrology Vs Western Astrology

For years, experts have been pursuing the study of planetary movements to recognize the events of human life.  However, not everyone knows that there are multiple types of astrology.   Most people are only aware of Western astrology, but there is another one also called – Vedic Astrology.

Astrology is one of those practices that is categorized as art as well as science. Not only does it end the uncertainty of the future but also fills your life with hope and opportunity. A majority of people can't start their day without reading their daily hosroscope.

Zodiac Signs according to Western and Vedic Astrology

  Zodiac Signs  Western Astrology  Vedic Astrology
AriesMarch 21 - April 20 April 13 - May 14
TaurusApril 21 - May 22March 15 - June 14
GeminiMay 22 - June 21 June 14 - July 14
CancerJune 22 - July 22 July 14 - August 15
LeoJuly 23 - August 23 August 15 - September 15
VirgoAugust 22 - September 22 September 15 - October 15
LibraSeptember 24 - October 23 October 15 - November 14
ScorpioOctober 24 - November 24  November 15 - December 15
SagittariusNovember 23 - December 21 December 15 - January 13
CapricornDecember 22 - January 20 January 14 - February 1 13
AquariusJanuary 21 - February 19 February  13 - March 13
PiscesFebruary 2  - March 20 March 14 - April 14


The beginning of Vedic astrology goes back to Vedas.  These are some foremost scriptures present on the planet earth.  The Vedas were developed by the rishis of the Indian subcontinent. It is believed that God passed his words of wisdom to some wise people on earth.

On the other hand, western astrology is related to Egyptian Civilization.  It is more of an intellectual belief that that has evolved with time. The belief advanced mainly during the rulership of Alexander the great. Later it spread through, the middle-east and reached the Asian continents.


The major difference between Vedic and western astrology is the study of zodiac signs. The former uses a fixed Zodiac to determine the happenings of life. Whereas the latter is based on a movable Zodiac. In Western astrology, Earth is the center and the rest of the celestial bodies are the moving ones.

This theory is based on the belief that the sun reaches the same point after every circle of the earth. It is proven that Vernal Equinox divides the earth into two equal parts. This phenomenon takes place on March 22 every year. Day and night is of the same length on this day. The first western astrological sign, Aries, begins at this point only. 

Planet system

In Vedic astrology, we use nine planets for calculations.  These are the Sun, Moon, Mars, Mercury, Venus, Saturn, Jupiter, Rahu, and Ketu.  Using these signs Vedic astrologers create Nakshatra which is the mixture of 27 lunar constellations.  Each of these constellations span at 13 degree 20 minutes. 

Whereas the western astrology also includes planets, which the Vedic astrology exclude. They are Uranus, Neptune, and Pluto.  Western astrologers do not even consider constellations or Nakshatra as the part of their studies.

Solar and lunar system

The basis of Western astrology lies on the transition of sun.  A thorough study is done on the personality of an individual. To come to a conclusion, an astrologer studies all the psychological aspects.

However, in Vedic astrology, an astrologer will follow the moon sign. Hence all the other aspects of a person's life are taken into consideration. Suppose, you want to know your daily Aquarius horoscope, you will find two different readings.

Benefics and Malefics

In Vedic astrology there are many benefices and malefic. For example, mercury is a benefic until it is influenced by other Malefic and then there is the Moon, which is malefic until it is 72° of the Sun. Next, there is Jupiter and Venus which are always considered beneficial.  The remaining Mars, Saturn, and nodes are considered malefic.  Whereas, in Western astrology, it is just Saturn which is considered as a challenging aspect and can be proven both benefice and malefic.

House preparations

When the astrologers in western astrology create astrological charts, it is based on the angularity and elemental affiliation. However, in Vedic astrology, there will be a lot of Trikonas, Marakas, and Kendra. Western astrology follows of planets to study the events. However, Vedic astrology uses a different method to time the planets this is called Vimshotarri Dasha.

If you want to be surer about your future we recommend taking consultation in both forms of astrology. Even though structures are definitely tougher in Vedic astrology, the study of both astrology is equally complex and only professionals can reach the right conclusion.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *